top of page

About Us

At D-Prep Safety, we have assembled a team of master trainers to provide high-quality, effective virtual and in-person trainings at a reasonable price point. We bring decades of subject matter expertise in diversity, equity and inclusion, legal reviews, counseling, law enforcement, crisis communication, threat assessment, conduct/discipline, and human resources.

 

Dr. Brian Van Brunt has trained hundreds of BIT, CARE, and threat teams as well as thousands of counselors, case managers, law enforcement officers, SROs, teachers, administrators, Title IX investigators, and accommodations staff. These communities and individuals span workplaces, law enforcement agencies, mental health clinics, K-12 schools, and colleges/universities. Over the decades he has learned the importance of offering uniquely tailored trainings to better support the needs of each community they train, both virtually and on the road. Bethany Smith coordinates and supports this work through the development of expert systems, supplemental materials, and innovative technology solutions to complex problems.

Since 1997, D-Prep has provided training and consulting services for critical incident response, disaster preparation and emergency response to law enforcement personnel, K-12 school districts, higher education, local governments, and property management companies nationwide. We have taught over 70,000 law enforcement and civilian students who consistently evaluate ours amongst the highest rated classes currently being offered.

Our Work

Hard Conversations book
Uprooting Sexual Violence
White Supremacist Violence
Brief BITs
An Educator's Guide to Assessing Threats in Student Writing
The Book on BIT
Understanding and Treating Incels
Best BITs
Ending Campus Violence
A Faculty Guide to Addressing Disruptive and Dangerous Behavior
A Guide to Leadership and Management in Higher Education
A Staff Guide to Addressing Disruptive and  Dangerous Behavior on Campus
Harm to Others
The Prevention and Management of Mental Health Emergencies

Our Team

Bethany Smith

Bethany Smith

Director of Safety

bethany@dprep.com

Brian Van Brunt

Brian Van Brunt, EdD

Director of Behavior and

Threat Management

brian@dprep.com

Affiliated Consultants: BIT/CARE

Amy Murphy

Amy Murphy, PhD

Angelo State University

amy.murphy@angelo.edu

Dr. Chris Taylor

Chris Taylor, PhD

Wright State University

chris.taylor@wright.edu

Lisa Pescara-Kovach

Lisa Pescara-Kovach, PhD

University of Toledo

lisa.kovach@utoledo.edu

Kenneth Johnson

Kenneth Johnson

Texas A&M University

kjohnson1980@tamu.edu

Jennifer Adams

Jennifer Adams

SUNY Polytechnic

adamsj4@sunypoly.edu

MJ Raleigh

Mary-Jeanne (MJ) Raleigh, PhD

Caledonia Central Supervisory Union

mj@interactt.org

Affiliated Consultants: DEI & Disability Services

Jacques Whitfield

Jacques Whitfield, JD

CPS HR Consulting

jwhitfield@cpshr.us

Jeanne Clifton

Jeanne Clifton

Salem State University

jeanne.e.clifton@gmail.com

Poppy Fitch

Poppy Fitch, PhD

San Diego Community Colleges

poppyfitch@gmail.com

Tammy Hodo

Tammy Hodo, PhD

All Things Diverse

tammy@allthingsdiverse.com

Vanessa Pomarico

Vanessa Pomarico, EdD

Northeast Medical Group

vpdenino@gmail.com

Affiliated Consultants: Mental Health

David Denino

David Denino, LPC, NCC

Southern CT State University

david@daviddenino.com

Karen Humphrey Sullins

Karen Sullins, MS, LPC, NCC

Healing Hearts to Resiliency

karen@helpinghandspcc.org

Robert Scholz

Robert Scholz, MA, LMFT, LPCC

The Change Place

robert@roberttherapy.com

Affiliated Consultants: Emergency Preparedness

Baron Brown

Baron Brown, EdD, MPA, MBA

CPS HR Consulting

Brendan Keats

Brendan "Airwolf" Keats

Sarasota County Sheriff's Office

brendanarthurkeats@gmail.com

Charlie Taylor

Charlie Talyor

Affiliated Consultant

charlie@dprepsafety.com

Chris Brown

Christopher Brown

Police Sergeant

chrisbrown@dprep.com

Chris Usher

Christopher Usher

Security Expert

chrisu@dprepsafety.com

Chief Joseph Dooley

Joseph Dooley

Southern Connecticut State

jmdool@att.net

bottom of page